Well, Here Goes Nothing…

About a week ago, I sat in a classroom listening to a man talk about telling stories and how easy it can be to put your thoughts into words. I did not know what to expect once he walked into the room. I examined his attire, and after looking at him from head to toe at first glance I noticed he had his nails painted. At this moment, I knew we were in for a real treat.

I thought, this could go one of two ways. He could be completely crazy with his thoughts and make no sense to me, or he could be the type of person that is just strange enough that everything they say seems to make perfect sense. Turns out it was the latter of the two predictions, and I found myself to be very interested in what he had to say about blogging and the ease of it all.

This man, Ron Davis, was quite the character. Once he opened his mouth, stories began to flow and I cannot tell you how many times the discussion got off topic. He mentioned his reasoning for blogging and it made me think about how convenient technology has made everyone’s lives, even the disabled. I thought it was very cool how he uses typing on the computer more often now ever since he had his stroke.

Technology seems to open up the door to many things. Ron made sure to focus on how blogging allows people to share stories whenever they want, to whoever they want. This means that blogs can be about whatever the person feels like writing about. The thing I found to be the most interesting from Ron’s talk was the fact that he gets one idea in his head and runs with it to create a blog post.

For instance, he asked me random questions about my Sperry shoes once he noticed them during class. This gave him some information on something he was inquisitive about and he took it from there. He gave ideas all throughout his talk about how he would make a blog post out of any random thought.

I thoroughly enjoyed Ron’s class discussion. It made me less intimidated to blog this semester. I am really looking forward to what I can come up with when creating blog posts and learning along the way.

4 thoughts on “Well, Here Goes Nothing…

  1. I agree, Lindsay. I also thought Ron may make completely off-the-wall comments, but he really helped me as well. I always think that I have to find the perfect topic when I write. Ron taught me that something I think people will find uninteresting, may not be so boring after all. Therefore, you can pretty much blog about anything that comes to mind, which makes it much more exciting!

  2. I agree with what you said about his presentation, I think the way he veered off topic and kept us entertained spoke to how he would blog as well. His idea of stream of consciousness and being open to sharing whatever story in your mind was interesting to me as well. It showed that anything can be interesting as long as it captures your attention. The ability to share stories is a special one especially in blog form where a writers personality can really shine through.

  3. His nails were the first thing I noticed as well. Interesting man for sure but definitely a character and I think it’d be an interesting time speaking to him outside of a classroom just to hear some pretty crazy stories. Maybe we can trade nail ideas from Pinterest while we’re at it.

    • I totally agree Avery, it is not every day that you run into a man who paints his nails! But he really did have some crazy stories to tell us. I am thinking that he could teach us all a thing or two about standing out instead of trying to fit in with the rest of the crowd. You can really tell that Ron Davis is someone that knows how to stay true to himself.

Leave a Reply

